Center for Asian Studies is delighted to have two advisory boards: Faculty Advisory Board and International Advisory Board. Board members are either scholars in Asian studies or business leaders. They provide input and perspective on the Center’s programs and strategies; provide support in hosting events and fundraising. We are proud to have two enthusiastic groups of advisors. 


  • Roger Malina: Professor of Arts & Technology, School of Arts, Technology and Emerging Communication
  • Jiyoung Park: Assistant Professor of School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences
  • Poras Balsara: Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Ravi Prakash: Professor in the Department of Computer Science and the Collegium V Honors College
  • Mike Peng: Professor of Organizations, Strategy and International Management, O. P. Jindal Distinguished Chair, Jindal School of Management
  • Hubert Zydorek: Senior Lecturer I, Organizations, Strategy and International Management, Director of BS Global Business Program and MS IMS Program, Jindal School of Management
  • Tae Hoon Kim: Department Head, Associate Professor, Biological Science in the School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics
  • Robert Stern: Professor of School of Natural Science & Mathematics, Geosciences
  • Jacqueline Chao: Senior Curator of Asian Art, Crow Museum of Asian Art of The University of Texas at Dallas


  • Da Hsuan Feng: Board Chair, former Vice President for Research and Economic Development at the University of Texas at Dallas
  • Bing Xie (TI): Senior Vice President, Worldwide Sales and Applications, Texas Instruments
  • Almas Muscatwalla: Founding Member and Executive Director, Faith Forward Dallas
  • Charlie Chen: Chairman/CEO of DFW Technology, Inc.
  • Pauline Chen: CFO of DFW Technology, Inc.
  • Jonathan Stalling: Harold J and Ruth Newman Chair for US-China Issues at Oklahoma University
  • Chazmon Gates (TI): Legal Counsel, Texas Instruments
  • Stefanie Schneidler: philanthropist
  • Michael Szonyi: Frank Wen-hsiung Wu Memorial Professor of Chinese History and Director, Fairbank Center for Chinese Studies, Harvard University
  • Guo Hua Yan: Vice President of Beijing University of Foreign Studies
  • Jordan Cowman: Attorney-a-Law, Traurig Greenberg LLP
  • Dr. Peter Mathieson: Principal (President) University of Edinburgh (Scotland)
  • Professor Bali Deepak: Professor of Chinese, Jawaharlal Nehru University (Delhi, India)
  • Professor Kidder Smith: Professor )ret.) Bowdoin University, retired
  • Paul Pass – Executive Director, Japan-America Society of Dallas/Fort Worth